February 27, 2009

Viva La Mexico!

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:54 pm by Rev. Thomas Perchlik

So I was wandering around in my WordPress dashboard when I noticed that someone had linked to my page from somewhere in Mexico.  So I checked out the link and found the Libre Congregacion Unitaria de Mexico.  If that was not cool enough they had translated one of my sermons, “No Immaculate Conception” into Spanish.  How cool is that?  I know some Spanish, enough to get into trouble, as the saying goes, but I could never have done that sort of translation.  Now I can preach one of my sermons totally in Espanol (sorry, but I don’t know how to blog with Spanish accents yet.)

The Mexican Unitarians had even added illustrations.  Wow. I had never thought to add visual elements to my web works.  The translator had added hyperlinks into my text, such as a link to an English language biography of James Luther Adams.   They included links to my Muncie UU website, the photo (now old) from that site, as well as links to my WordPress blog.  I did not know any of this had been done, but as long as they give credit where credit is do I think the whole thing is very, very cool.

As they say at the top of the site: El amor es la doctrina de esta iglesia, La búsqueda de la verdad su sacramento, Y el servicio es su oración.

1 Comment »

  1. Robin Edgar said,

    “If that was not cool enough they had translated one of my sermons, “No Immaculate Conception” into Spanish. How cool is that?”

    I would say that that’s pretty cool, almost as cool as The Emerson Avenger’s Mexican culture inspired official UUA Presidential Campaign poster. 😉


Leave a Reply

